A comment on the Washington Post article from yesterday.  (https://womonandsprout.wordpress.com/2007/07/31/washington-post-today/  -btw, someone want to tell me how to do hotlinking so I don’t have these huge friggen links taking up space?) I found it to be particularly interesting. Now that the name callers are done with the discussion, real discourse seems to be starting on the comment board over there.

“”All truth passes through 3 stages: First it is ridiculed. Then it is violently opposed. Finally, it is accepted as self-evident.”

I personally had my first in a hospital, with a good experience. I eventually learned about UC and progressed through all 3 of these stages of truth myself, starting with “She must be f***ing crazy!” I have had 2 UCs since, and feel very comfortable being ridiculed and laughed at. After all, I have nature on my side, and several millenia of species success. The bottom line is that I trust myself and my baby to know what is going on and decide if I (possibly) need outside ‘help’ than I trust a doctor or midwife to do this very personal job.

My sincerest regards to those fellow sisters of mine who have been tortured by our medical/malpractice industry. This discussion is one step toward changing it so it never again happens to another woman/baby/family.”

I have never found that to be more true than when it comes to something like this, or like vaccinating, or babywearing, etc.

